Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute(新宿日本語学校 SNG)
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo

About the school
Opened in 1975, a miscellaneous-category school authorized by the Governor of Tokyo (Ezoe Gakuen educational corporation). 3 buildings near Takadanobaba Station plus an Okutama training facility. More than 60 countries and about 700 students (as shown on the top page). Has a preparatory education course designated by the Minister of Education. ISO 29991:2020 certified, and assessed by the third-party evaluation of the Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education. Also offers education for deaf students (VLJ) and a Japanese teacher training course.
Fees
- Annual tuition
- ¥840,000
- Fee basis
- Tuition for student visa applicants (1-year course, April entry). Tax inclusion not stated. The amount is the same in the official SNG Application Guide (English) for April 2027 entry and on the fee page. The 1.5-year course (October entry) is ¥1,260,000 and the 2-year course is ¥1,680,000 (¥840,000 per year). The total for 1 year is ¥990,000 (registration fee ¥40,000 + processing fee ¥40,000 + materials ¥60,000 + tuition ¥840,000 + insurance ¥10,000).
- Admission fee
- ¥40,000"Registration fee" in the fee table: ¥40,000. No tax indication. A separate Processing fee of ¥40,000 (non-refundable) applies.
- Dormitory
- To be confirmed
Dormitory & housing
Partner housing is introduced: Takada Dormitory (share house run by SNG, 18 minutes' walk, rooms for 2 or 3, minimum 3 months, application fee ¥35,000, deposit separate), BeGoodJapan, Sakura House, Neo House Tokyo etc. Prices are set by the partners.
Admission requirements
- Intake months
- April
- October
- Course lengths
- 12 months(1 yr)18 months(1 yr 6 mo)24 months(2 yrs)
- Study period
- Weekday course (elementary to advanced, general / intensive) 1 year, 1.5 years, 2 years. Also JLPT preparation, EJU preparation, business Japanese, tourism business, teacher training, evening and Saturday classes, and short courses. Classes are 9:10-12:40 in the morning or 13:30-17:00 in the afternoon (5 days a week, 45 minutes per period).
- Admission requirements
- Completion of secondary education (equivalent to 12 years), a financial sponsor with the ability to pay, and Japanese ability requirements. Document screening plus online interview in some cases. Application period: April intake from October of the previous year to 15 December, October intake from April to 15 June. COE application is handled by SNG on the applicant's behalf, and tuition is paid for 1 year in a lump sum.
- Japanese level requirement
- From October 2026 entry: either (A) a pass certificate for JLPT, NAT-TEST etc. recognized by the Immigration Services Agency, or (B) a Japanese interview given by the school. Specified nationals who have graduated from higher education (university etc.) are exempt. A required level (N5 etc.) is not stated.
- Graduation & further-study support
- Advancement and job consultation (Mon-Fri 10-17, by appointment, 30 minutes), information on EJU/JLPT, TOEFL and others, research plan coaching, an advancement event at least once a month, designated-school recommendation (page exists). Scholarships: JASSO Study Incentive Grant for Privately Financed International Students ¥48,000 per month (100% attendance, etc.), Takayama International Education Foundation ¥120,000 per month (Asia only), Kyoritsu Maintenance ¥70,000 per month (Asia only), and others.
- Accreditation
- "School with a preparatory course designated by the Minister of Education" (top page); miscellaneous school approved by the Governor of Tokyo; third-party evaluation by the Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education; ISO 29991:2020 certification. Certified Japanese Language Institution (certified by the Minister of Education) is not explicitly confirmed.
- Nepal applicants
- The official website states no country-based restrictions on acceptance. No Nepal-specific information either (none could be confirmed on the overseas offices page). The site is not available in Nepali.
- Language support
- Classes are taught in Japanese (Ezoe visual teaching method). Website available in Japanese, English and 11 other languages (German, Spanish, French, Indonesian, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Vietnamese, Chinese simplified/traditional); no Nepali. Staff support languages are not mentioned.
Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.