Skip to content

Kudan Institute of Japanese Language & Culture(九段日本文化研究所・日本語学院)

Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo

Kudan Institute of Japanese Language & Culture(九段日本文化研究所・日本語学院) (image from the school's official website)
© Kudan Institute of Japanese Language & Culture(九段日本文化研究所・日本語学院)

About the school

Kanda-Misakicho, Chiyoda-ku, 4 minutes' walk from the east exit of JR Suidobashi Station. A long-established school with multinational students (30-40 countries per month on average). Offers conversation, comprehensive (intensive), beginner and private lessons, a culture course and online courses. Teachers have passed the Japanese Language Teaching Competency Test or completed a training course. Year of establishment and capacity not stated on the official page.

Fees

Annual tuition
¥915,000
Fee basis
¥915,000 for 12 months of the long-term (student visa) course (an example given on the intensive course page; includes screening, translation, registration, textbooks, international student insurance, etc. No tax statement or date). The tuition amount alone is not stated officially.
Admission fee
To be confirmed
Dormitory
To be confirmed

Dormitory & housing

No dormitory is stated. Partner share houses/guest houses (arrangement fee ¥5,000, rent from ¥75,000 per month, initial cost ¥35,000 for entry from January 2027) and homestay (arrangement fee ¥10,000, ¥3,300 per night) are introduced; airport pick-up is charged.

Admission requirements

Intake months
  • January
  • April
  • July
  • October
Course lengths
6 months24 months(2 yrs)Short courses: 1–6 months
Study period
Student visa: 6 months to 2 years. Short-term: 2 weeks to 6 months. Intensive courses, conversation courses and others.
Admission requirements
Aged 18 or over, high-school graduation or above (12 or more years of school education), N5 or above (below N5 not accepted). Documents: application form and CV, proof of last education and transcript, copy of passport, photos, proof of Japanese ability, financial support documents (financial sponsor's bank balance of ¥1,600,000 or more, etc.). No nationality-specific conditions are listed. Apply about 6 months before the start.
Japanese level requirement
N5 or above. There are 8 class levels, from Elementary I (N5) to Advanced II (latter half of N1).
Graduation & further-study support
Individual counselling, advancement briefings in and outside the school (accompanied), coaching on application documents and interviews, job support and job-hunting preparation courses. States that there are many scholarships (no names or amounts). Designated schools not stated. No numerical advancement results.
Accreditation
School certified by the Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education. Immigration Services Agency "appropriate school (Class I)". Certified Japanese Language Institution (certified by the Minister of Education) could not be confirmed.
Nepal applicants
The official website states no country restrictions. Nepal is not mentioned either (students come from 30-40 countries per month on average, and 87+ countries over the past 10 years).
Language support
Website in 15 languages (Japanese, English, Korean, Chinese, French, Spanish, etc.). Staff are stated to support multiple languages (languages not listed). No mention of Nepali support. Classes are taught in Japanese.

Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.