Skip to content

ARC Academy Tokyo(ARC東京日本語学校)

Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo

ARC Academy Tokyo(ARC東京日本語学校) (image from the school's official website)
© ARC Academy Tokyo(ARC東京日本語学校)

About the school

2-23-10 Koraku, Bunkyo-ku (near Iidabashi Station). Opened in November 1986, moved from Shibuya to Iidabashi in 2015, run by the ARC Gakuen educational corporation (established October 2017). Capacity 640. Sister schools are the Shinjuku campus and ARC Kyoto Japanese Language School. Courses are General Study Abroad (conversation 9:10-12:40 / comprehensive 13:30-17:00) and Intensive Japanese.

Fees

Annual tuition
¥816,000
Fee basis
First-year tuition for the general study-abroad course is ¥816,000 (applies from April 2026, tax not stated, materials separate). The total for the 2-year course is ¥1,732,000 (screening fee ¥30,000 + admission fee ¥70,000 + tuition ¥816,000 × 2). 1 year 9 months ¥1,528,000, 1 year 6 months ¥1,324,000, 1 year 3 months ¥1,120,000, 1 year ¥916,000. No difference in fees between the Tokyo and Shinjuku campuses is stated.
Admission fee
¥70,000General study-abroad course. No tax indication, applies from April 2026. The ¥30,000 screening fee is separate. Short-term courses have an entrance fee of ¥10,000
Application / screening fee
¥30,000
Dormitory
To be confirmed

Dormitory & housing

The official website has an "accommodation guide" page (contents not checked). Whether dormitories exist and their fees: please ask us.

Admission requirements

Intake months
  • January
  • April
  • July
  • October
Course lengths
12 months(1 yr)15 months(1 yr 3 mo)18 months(1 yr 6 mo)21 months(1 yr 9 mo)24 months(2 yrs)Short courses: 3 months
Study period
General study-abroad course: 1 to 2 years (1 year, 1 year 3 months, 1 year 6 months, 1 year 9 months, 2 years). Business Japanese class 1 year. Short course 3 months (48 days).
Admission requirements
High-school graduation or above (12 or more years of school education), aged 18 or over. Documents: application form, proof of last education and transcript, copy of passport, photos, proof of Japanese ability, financial sponsorship statement, bank balance certificate, proof of family relationship, financial sponsor's employment and income certificates (varies by country). Selection by document screening, with an interview if necessary. Apply 5-6 months in advance.
Japanese level requirement
A Japanese-ability certificate must be submitted (no level is stated). Classes are decided by a level check after enrolment.
Graduation & further-study support
Homeroom teacher counselling, advancement seminars, escorting students to external advancement briefings, job seminars, exam prep courses. Fiscal 2024 results: 30 advanced (graduate school 4, university 11, vocational school 15), 27 found jobs (Engineer/Specialist in Humanities/International Services 22, Skilled Labor 2, Specified Skilled Worker 3). Designated schools and scholarships are not stated.
Accreditation
Approved by the Governor of Tokyo; Ministry of Justice notified school (official top page). The Immigration Services Agency "appropriate school" is not confirmed on this school's page. Certified Japanese Language Institution (certified by the Minister of Education) could not be confirmed (another source mentions a planned curriculum update under the new system).
Nepal applicants
The official page states no country restrictions and does not mention Nepal. It says application documents differ by country and region.
Language support
Website available in Japanese, English, simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese and Korean (inquiries are also stated to be accepted in several other languages). Staff support languages and Nepali support are not stated officially.

Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.