Skip to content

JLCI Japanese Language School

Kita-ku, Tokyo

JLCI Japanese Language School (image from the school's official website)
© JLCI Japanese Language School

About the school

8-4-1 Toshima, Kita-ku, Tokyo. Run by Kokusai Jinzai Kaihatsu Co., Ltd. and founded in 1980 as Nihon Bunka Gengo Gakuin. Capacity 1,380. Ministry of Justice notified school and appropriate school; JaLSA member (2021). Further-study, business and Specified Skilled Worker courses, and an on-campus EJU cram school. Renamed Waseda EDU Japanese Language School Oji Campus in April 2026.

Fees

Annual tuition
¥803,000
Fee basis
Tuition for the first year (12 months) of the further-study course. Tax inclusion not stated, fiscal year not stated (site after the April 2026 renaming). Also ¥66,000 facilities fee, ¥66,000 admission fee and ¥22,000 screening fee, for a first-year total of ¥957,000. Second-year tuition is ¥803,000.
Admission fee
¥66,000¥66,000 (tax-included/tax-excluded not stated). The ¥22,000 screening fee is separate
Application / screening fee
¥22,000
Dormitory
Yes

Dormitory & housing

4 student dormitories (Oji, Oji-Kamiya, Oji-Kamiya II, Nitta). Contracts start on the 1st of January, April, July and October. Fees: please ask us.

Admission requirements

Intake months
To be confirmed
Course lengths
15 months(1 yr 3 mo)18 months(1 yr 6 mo)21 months(1 yr 9 mo)24 months(2 yrs)
Study period
Further-study course 2 years / 1 year 9 months / 1 year 6 months / 1 year 3 months. Also a business course, a specified skilled worker course and a short intensive course. Target: CEFR B2 (equivalent to JLPT N1).
Admission requirements
The process is: admission application (application form, CV, financial sponsorship statement), payment of the screening fee, online interview (result in 2-3 days), and proxy application for the Certificate of Eligibility. Years of schooling, age and nationality-specific conditions are not stated on the pages read.
Japanese level requirement
Beginners may also enrol (pathway course FAQ). No JLPT level requirement at entry is stated. A placement test and interview after arrival in Japan.
Graduation & further-study support
Career consultation and essay/interview coaching by the teacher in charge, EJU prep by an in-school prep school, mock exams. Advancement results: University of Tokyo, Kyoto University, Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Waseda, Keio, Sophia and others. Designated-school recommendations: Toyo University, Takushoku University, Musashino University, Wako University, Josai University, Tokyo University of Social Welfare and others. Job support available (fee-charging job placement license obtained). Scholarships not confirmed.
Accreditation
Ministry of Justice certified notified school and appropriate school; a school that can submit applications on behalf of applicants at the Tokyo Regional Immigration Services Bureau; JaLSA member. Certified Japanese Language Institution could not be confirmed.
Nepal applicants
The official website states no country restrictions. No individual mention of Nepali-language support could be confirmed (Nepali appearing among the languages of the residence consultation desk comes from the Immigration Services Agency's guidance).
Language support
Classes are taught in Japanese. Website available in Japanese, English and Chinese (simplified). Specific staff support languages could not be confirmed.

Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.