Skip to content

Midream Japanese Language School

Shinjuku, Tokyo

About the school

Midream Japanese Language School was founded in 1985 and is in Hyakunin-cho, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo (main building and Building 2). It has long specialised in preparing students for Japanese higher education and became a certified Japanese language institution in July 2025. Capacity 880; 836 enrolled (as of 21 October 2026); nationalities: China 58%, Nepal 20%, Myanmar 13%, others 9%. Class I appropriate school under the Tokyo Regional Immigration Services Bureau, with an art class.

Fees

Annual tuition
From ¥720,000
Fee basis
Long-term course tuition for fiscal 2026 (first-year total ¥908,000). Tax treatment not stated.
First-year total (as listed by the school)
¥908,000
Admission fee
¥20,000Fiscal 2026; tax treatment not stated. The ¥20,000 screening fee is separate.
Application / screening fee
¥20,000
Dormitory
To be confirmed

Dormitory & housing

No information on dormitories or housing support on the official website (this does not mean there is none). Please ask us.

Admission requirements

Intake months
  • April24 months(2 yrs)
  • July21 months(1 yr 9 mo)
  • October18 months(1 yr 6 mo)
Study period
April: 2 years / July: 1 year 9 months / October: 1 year 6 months.
Admission requirements
The admission conditions (years of schooling, age, financial support, nationality-specific conditions, documents) could not be confirmed in the school's website text. The recruitment page only points to external sites in Chinese, Vietnamese, Nepali and English (not yet checked).
Japanese level requirement
No JLPT level or hours are confirmed as an application requirement. After enrolment, an entrance test (basic Japanese plus an essay, and general knowledge in English, maths and social studies) is used for class placement. Two courses: university and graduate-school pathways.
Graduation & further-study support
A career adviser from the student's own country meets students from entry. In year 2 students split into university and graduate-school classes: EJU materials and mock exams for the university class, research plans and presentation prep for the graduate class. States that over 90% advance each year (schools such as the Graduate School of the University of Tokyo, Waseda and Keio are named). Scholarships and job support not confirmed.
Accreditation
Certified Japanese Language Institution by the Ministry of Education (since July 2025). Class I appropriate school at the Tokyo Immigration Services Bureau (each October 2023–2026). Certified school and supporting member of the Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education. Designated as a Tokyo immigration submission school. Preparatory-course designation could not be confirmed.
Nepal applicants
Introduced for Nepali students on a third-party website only. Not verified.
Language support
Website available in Japanese, Chinese, English, Vietnamese and Nepali. First-year students can get individual career guidance in their native language.

Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.