Skip to content

Musashi-Urawa Japanese Language Institute

さいたま市南区, Saitama, Saitama

Musashi-Urawa Japanese Language Institute (image from the school's official website)
© Musashi-Urawa Japanese Language Institute

About the school

Run by the Mitsui Gakuen educational corporation and approved by the Saitama governor in April 2003. The main building and the first and second buildings (3 in total) are in Kantebukuro, Minami-ku, Saitama. The nearest station is Musashi-Urawa on the JR Saikyo and Musashino Lines, about 18 minutes to Ikebukuro. The 2-year and 1-year-6-month courses are preparatory courses designated by the Minister of Education. Features: individual study programmes, guidance for graduate school and art-school entry, and a student dormitory 10 minutes away on foot or by bicycle. Events include sports days and school festivals.

Fees

Annual tuition
From ¥720,000
Fee basis
First-year total of ¥950,000 for the Japanese course for further study (tuition ¥720,000–780,000 plus other fees). Textbooks and dormitory are not included.
First-year total (as listed by the school)
¥950,000
Admission fee
¥80,000Japanese language course for further study; year not stated. The ¥20,000 screening fee is separate.
Application / screening fee
¥20,000
Dormitory
Yes

Dormitory & housing

Available (school dormitory; not stated whether run by the school or outsourced). 10 minutes on foot or by bicycle to the school; kitchen, furniture and internet provided. The dormitory fee is separate from tuition and the amount is not published (please ask us).

Admission requirements

Intake months
  • April24 months(2 yrs)
  • July21 months(1 yr 9 mo)
  • October18 months(1 yr 6 mo)
Study period
Further-study course: April 2 years / July 1 year 9 months / October 1 year 6 months. Preparatory course: April 2 years / October 1 year 6 months.
Admission requirements
Graduation from high school or above in the home country within the last 3 years, wishing to continue to further study or work, and strong motivation. A Japanese-study certificate (total hours and level) is required. Documents on who pays the costs (income certificates for the past 3 years, etc.). Education verification for Chinese nationals. A ¥50,000 fee applies if re-applying. No age limit is listed.
Japanese level requirement
No minimum JLPT level or study hours are stated. The pathway preparation course accepts complete beginners. Screening is by documents, then an interview and a Japanese test. The 1-year 6-month course also accepts intermediate and above.
Graduation & further-study support
Individual study programmes, EJU and university-specific exam prep (maths, English, general subjects, science), research plan and portfolio advice for graduate and art schools, and mock interviews. Destinations include Tokyo University of the Arts, University of Tsukuba, Keio and Ritsumeikan (some, from pass reports). Scholarships not confirmed.
Accreditation
Mitsui Gakuen educational corporation (approved by the Saitama Governor in April 2003). Preparatory course designated by the Minister of Education (2-year and 1-year 6-month courses). Published notification standard no. 44 (30 June 2026; 94.5% meet the standard). Appropriate-school class, Certified Japanese Language Institution and Association certification are not mentioned.
Nepal applicants
No restriction by nationality is stated. Eligibility includes having graduated from upper secondary school or higher in the home country within the last 3 years, among other conditions. Nepal, Myanmar and Sri Lanka are not mentioned individually.
Language support
Support languages and language of instruction are not stated.

Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.