Skip to content

UNITAS Japanese Language School Kofu

甲府市宝1-20-22, Kofu, Yamanashi

UNITAS Japanese Language School Kofu (image from the school's official website)
© UNITAS Japanese Language School Kofu

About the school

Run by the Teikyo University Group and founded in 1970. The Tokyo campus is in Okubo 2-chome, Shinjuku (5 minutes' walk from Higashi-Shinjuku Station); the Kofu campus is in Takara 1-chome, Kofu (7 minutes' walk from Kofu Station). More than 12,000 students have studied there in total; as of May 2026, 680 students are enrolled in Kofu and 840 in Tokyo, from over 49 countries. There is a recommendation system for entry to Teikyo University, and the Tokyo campus has produced graduates entering top universities such as the University of Tokyo. Support includes housing introductions and part-time job introductions.

Fees

Annual tuition
From ¥610,000
Fee basis
A short course at ¥45,000 per month is also listed; it is separate from long-term (student visa) course fees. Please ask us to confirm the long-term fee.
First-year total (as listed by the school)
¥800,000
Short courses
A short course at ¥45,000 per month is listed separately from long-term (student visa) course fees.
Admission fee
¥60,000Year and tax not stated. The ¥20,000 screening fee is separate.
Application / screening fee
¥20,000
Dormitory
YesFrom ¥20,000 per month

Dormitory & housing

Available (housing introduction support; about 30 properties listed). Single rooms ¥20,000–43,500 per month (Dormy Kofu from ¥59,300); some properties allow 2 people. Listed prices are for reference and will be revised after April 2026. Entry fee and distance to the station are not stated.

Admission requirements

Intake months
  • January15 months(1 yr 3 mo)
  • April24 months(2 yrs)
  • July21 months(1 yr 9 mo)
  • October18 months(1 yr 6 mo)
Study period
April: 2 years / July: 1 year 9 months / October: 1 year 6 months / January: 1 year 3 months (1-year enrolment is also possible).
Admission requirements
Completion of 12 or more years of schooling and age 18+ at entry (ask about exceptions). Proof of financial support. Documents differ by nationality. No difference in admission conditions between the Tokyo and Kofu campuses was found. Student-visa intakes are April, July, October and January, up to 2 years.
Japanese level requirement
Beginners may apply. However, depending on nationality and education, a certificate of at least 150 hours of prior study is needed for the student-visa application (150–200 hours recommended). The Tokyo campus interviews generally all applicants (local interviews for some countries).
Graduation & further-study support
Advancement to Teikyo University by recommendation and interview without the EJU (30–50% discount on 4 years of tuition). Tokyo: an advancement class from Intermediate I; Kofu: an EJU/JLPT prep class from Intermediate II. No dedicated job course; seminar information and individual guidance. Some scholarships (JASSO etc.) from the second year.
Accreditation
Tokyo: a school that can submit applications on behalf of applicants at the Tokyo Immigration Bureau, certified by the Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education, appropriate school (self-inspection 1 July 2025). Kofu: Class I appropriate school (self-inspection 31 July 2025). Certified by the Association in 1990. Preparatory-course designation and Certified Japanese Language Institution status could not be confirmed.
Nepal applicants
The official website states no country restrictions (please ask us). Paying tuition in half-year instalments may not be available depending on nationality.
Language support
Website available in English, Japanese, Chinese and Vietnamese.

Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.