Tokyo Galaxy Japanese Language School
Tokyo, Tokyo

About the school
Run by the Galaxy Gakuen educational corporation, with a preparatory course designated by MEXT. Located in Shinkawa, Chuo-ku, Tokyo, 5 minutes' walk from Kayabacho Station. In 1998 it became the first Japanese language school to introduce a full elective curriculum, and it opened a business Japanese class in 2008. Classes by purpose include a special university-preparation class, graduate school preparation, intensive study and cultural communication. Students are supported by a three-way system: homeroom teachers, career advisers and counsellors for each country.
Fees
- Annual tuition
- To be confirmed
- Fee basis
- ¥400,000 per 6 months (general course). The school does not publish an annual figure.
- Admission fee
- ¥60,000Year and tax not stated (the school is an incorporated educational institution, so consumption tax is not charged). The ¥20,000 screening fee is separate.
- Application / screening fee
- ¥20,000
- Dormitory
- Yes
Dormitory & housing
Available (student dormitory provided by the school; first-come, first-served applications). Details on fees and facilities could not be retrieved from the official page and are not verified.
Admission requirements
- Intake months
- January
- April
- July
- October
- Study period
- Long-term courses are "1 year or more". The standard length is not stated by the school.
- Admission requirements
- High-school graduation or equivalent. The school rules require 12 or more years of schooling (including expected completion), age 18+, and a likely entry permit. Proof of financial support and a bank statement (about ¥2,000,000) are needed. Extra documents may apply depending on nationality. Screening fee ¥20,000.
- Japanese level requirement
- No required study hours or JLPT level are officially stated at application. Level-based classes from beginner (around N5/N4) to advanced. The preparatory course accepts beginners. Whether a test or interview is held is also not stated.
- Graduation & further-study support
- The same advancement teacher stays with a student for a year; interview, essay and EJU prep (Special Advancement class); a graduate-school programme. Recommendations to partner schools (Hosei, Senshu, Toyo and others). Scholarships: Galaxy Scholarship (8 students per year, ¥100,000), JASSO and others. For jobs, business Japanese classes.
- Accreditation
- An educational corporation. Runs a preparatory course designated by the Ministry of Education. The school rules mention a "course certified as a Certified Japanese Language Institution". Its 2025 self-inspection and evaluation is published. Appropriate-school class and Association for the Promotion of Japanese Language Education certification could not be confirmed.
- Nepal applicants
- The official website states no country restrictions (please ask us). The school notes that documents other than those listed may be requested depending on nationality.
- Language support
- Website available in Japanese, English, Korean and Chinese (traditional and simplified). Classes are taught in Japanese. Staff support languages are not stated.
Fees and requirements can change. Ask us any question: we handle all enquiries.